A little bit of everything

Always Happy, Never Satisfied

Leave a comment

pictureedit

With New Years Eve upon us and the year of 2012 coming to a close, I thought this would be a good time to offer some thoughts for the new year ahead. I am – perhaps unfortunately – not a big believer in new year resolutions. I tried them multiple times growing up and found, like a lot of people, that they last all of a couple of weeks and then fade away as the activity and stress of life overwhelms the desire to floss every day. I also think that the motivation to accomplish something should not reside in one calendar day but should instead come from within you!

I do, however, have a personal motto that inspires me to reach for my goals every day. The picture frame above sits on my desk and is a constant reminder to be always happy, but never satisfied; to be happy and content with who I am, where I am and for all the blessings in my life, but at the same time to never be satisfied with these things and to always be trying to be better, which means never getting comfortable in one place. This is a constant challenge for me, but having the reminder there every day helps to keep me motivated to live up to that phrase.

I suppose this picture is also a first glimpse into some of my crafting. Yay for multi-purpose posts!

So this new year I have a suggestion: Instead of making a list of those same stubborn goals you write down every year but can’t seem to conquer, how about look at it as an opportunity to celebrate where you are in your life while also admitting that you are never finished growing. Create goals of things that you want to change or become better at or strive to achieve, but don’t place them on a checklist. Rather, pick one because it’s something you truly want to accomplish and I promise you’ll see much more satisfying results. And lastly, don’t take it too seriously because remember, even if you don’t accomplish it right away, you’re still happy!

Always happy, never satisfied. It works for me, and hopefully it can work for you. Perhaps you could even come up with your own personal motto, something true to you that can inspire you to be the best you can be, wouldn’t that be a great way to begin the year?

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

