A little bit of everything

Something New from Something Old

Leave a comment

IMG_2513

When my parents came into possession of some old barn windows a few years back, I immediately laid claim to two of them because I knew I wanted to do something artsy with them. Their rustic and tarnished look had so much character; I could just see them nestled into barn walls as tractors drove by and horses nibbled on hay in the countryside. So much inspiration, yet what to make of them?

I knew I wanted to hang them above my bed in my room, and I wanted it to be something that inspired me whenever I looked at it. With that in mind, I decided I wanted to create paper-crafted squares that would have a quote spread across the two windows – something to inspire. But I also wanted to keep the feeling of the barn window and have it appear as, well, a window, to an outside world and to places that I want to leave my room and jump into to get away. And so with a rough plan and after one long evening of crafting, I pulled it all together and produced what you see here!

The quote is from Marilyn Monroe, who I’ve always been particularly fascinated with. She was such a complex woman who had this perpetual flirty and carefree disposition that fed her image as a Hollywood sex symbol, but who wanted more than anything to be recognized as a great and worthy actress. The inner turmoil that tore at her while she smiled for cameras and teased her audiences is all a part of the confusing but enthralling dichotomies she embodied: strong yet fragile; sexy and desirous but strong and independent; carefree but serious. It is precisely her complexness, though, that makes her so beautiful to me, and it is for all of these reasons that I chose this particular quote to say something about how to approach living life (although I have also come to accept that this quote should be true only to a degree, as life certainly also requires maturity, responsibility and being accountable for your actions).

“Imperfection is beauty. Madness is genius. And it is better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring. And when it comes down to it, I let them think what they want. If they care enough to bother with what I do, I’m already better than them.”

For the other component, the pictures that I chose to fill in the rest of the spaces hold very special memories for me. They are from the first trip that I took with my friends to my family cabin in the interior of B.C. We had so many amazing adventures and saw so many beautiful things, and it has started a tradition that I hope will continue until we’re too old to drive anymore. Needless to say, these are also all places that I look at and wish I could jump into, and I think it’s perfect that they are placed behind the window frame, making it like a window to my memories and also to beautiful images of nature.

IMG_2518

IMG_2519

IMG_2521

IMG_2523

IMG_2524

IMG_2526

Something new from something old. With memories and inspiration and all sorts of artistic flare (at least I hope!). Hopefully this might inspire you to go create some of your own pieces, or to take something you have sitting in your basement or garage and refurbish it into something new and beautiful. Or maybe you’ll  just feel the urge go search up some inspirational quotes or Marilyn Monroe (The movie My Week With Marilyn was super interesting!).

Ultimately, I just had so much fun making these pieces that I wanted to share them with you =) Have a wonderful week and happy dilettante-ing.

Leave a Reply

