A little bit of everything

The Better and Badder Cauliflower “Mac-and-Cheese”

2 Comments

IMG_2699

Hello there! Hope you all had a good post-Easter week. After filling up on all of those Easter dinners, I figured this was a good time to tone things back to some lighter, simple eating with this week’s amazing recipe for mac-and-cheese – the cauliflower way.

But before I get to that, some of you may have noticed that there’s a new page on the home bar: “What’s a Dilettante, Anyway?”. I first explained this lovely word in my very first post, but obviously not all of you have read that post so I thought it was appropriate to create a permanent place to explain the name of my blog. I did my research for this one, so feel free to check it out if you’re curious!

Now onto the recipe. Perhaps I should first tell you that I love love love Pinterest, and there was this mac-and-cheese cauliflower recipe floating around that everybody seemed to be pinning, so I had to test it out. To keep this story short let’s just say that I wasn’t overly impressed, so of course I set out to give it a little oomph, and I tested out different variations and this is the resulting recipe! It’s healthy, delicious, and oh-so-cheesy, and I am being completely honest when I say I am never going back to the traditional mac-and-cheese. Yes, it’s that awesome (hence the “better and badder”). =)

Ingredients

Note: These ingredients will serve 2 people nicely.

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and put a pot of water on the stove and bring to a boil.

cauliflower

Cut the cauliflower into small, bite-sized florets and place into salted boiling water. Boil for 7 minutes until cauliflower is soft, drain water, remove cauliflower and set aside.

butter and flour

Melt the butter in the (now empty) pot, whisk in the flour and continue to whisk for 1 minute.

milk and garlic

Next, whisk in your milk and minced garlic, and continue to whisk constantly for 7 minutes until it thickens (don’t walk away from it or it will burn!)

cheese and egg

Take your egg yolk, cheese, and cayenne pepper and whisk it in until the cheese is completely melted.

mixing

Now take the cooked cauliflower you’ve set aside and mix it in with the sauce..mmm so cheesy!

breadcrumbs

To make your own fresh breadcrumbs, tear bread slices into large chunks and pulse in a food processor until they are small crumbs. 1 bread slice would be enough for this recipe but you can also make extra and store it for later.

baking

Spoon the cauliflower into 2 lightly greased individual ramekins (or a large one if you’re cooking for the whole family) and top with bread crumbs. Then bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes (20-30 if you’re using the large ramekin) and serve!

And that’s it! My mom and I devoured these in no time, and if you add a tall glass of water and a fresh green salad you have a complete and delicious meal. I’d say it’s my new favourite lunch, and would also be perfect as a light dinner option.

I hope you liked this recipe, and I hope you enjoy your better and badder cauliflower “mac-and-cheese” as much as I did. Please feel free to leave any comments or feedback, and have a great week!

2 thoughts on “The Better and Badder Cauliflower “Mac-and-Cheese”

  1. This looks delicious. I Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

