A little bit of everything

Classics, Recalibrated: Better Sweet Treats

Leave a comment

IMG_2981

First off, I owe all of you lovely people an incredible apology for the missing post last week. I don’t want to make excuses, but the truth is I had such a busy weekend and before you knew it it was Monday and oh my goodness I forgot to post! I was pretty choked myself, like I had tainted something special by breaking the pattern, so needless to say I have some major sucking up to do to you guys.

With that in mind, I thought I would make some treats for you! Unfortunately I can’t send goodies over the Internet, but I can give you an incredibly easy and yummy recipe so you can be eating them yourself in no time at all!reese's ingredients

So here’s the deal: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups used to be my favourite treat, so chocolate-y and peanut butter-y and really just the perfect mix of ingredients…but speaking of ingredients, have you ever actually read the ingredients list? If you haven’t it’s probably because, like me, you’re too afraid too. Well, it’s time to face your fear cause here it is.

And if you were still too scared to look at the picture, I’m going to give you the gist. The main ingredient is milk chocolate, whose first ingredient is sugar. Then there’s peanuts, then – wait – more sugar? One serving therefore contains 21 grams of sugar and 13 grams of fat. Whoa. No more Reese’s cups for me.

But never fear, The Runaway Dilettante is here! I’ve got a deliciously clean version of this classic goodie that I swear couldn’t be simpler.

It’s super basic.

What’s a healthier version of milk chocolate? Dark chocolate!

What’s a healthier version of peanut butter? Almond butter!

Done.

IMG_2958

Line a muffin tin with paper cups. Easy, right.

IMG_2959

Melt down dark chocolate in a saucepan over low heat. And pleaaase do not walk away cause it will burn, very quickly.

IMG_2961

Mmmmm ooey gooey chocolate.

IMG_2963

Scoop a thin layer of chocolate into the muffin cups and put it in the freezer for 5 minutes so it solidifies.

IMG_2969

Next, scoop a small ball of almond butter onto each chocolate base and QUICKLY put it back in the freezer for 10 minutes so the almond butter partly solidifies (I say quickly so the almond butter doesn’t have a chance to spread out to the edges).

IMG_2978

Then pour the rest of your chocolate on top to complete the cup and freeze it for at least 20 minutes so the almond butter can fully solidify.

 

IMG_3092

Yummy!!

There you have it! Delicious peanut butter cups done the clean-eating way. I hope you guys like them!

 

 

But wait..SURPRISE!! I’ve got a bonus treat for you. =) Consider it my way of trying to make up for my forgetfulness last week.
All you do is grab some of your favourite fruit or berries, cover them in Greek yogurt, and freeze them until the yogurt becomes a hard coating.

IMG_2975IMG_2976

Then you can place them in a bowl, pop some in your mouth and enjoy a delicious frozen treat. Too easy! It’s another healthy simple treat that you can enjoy in no time. I call them frozen yogurt fruit bites – cute right? Haha.

IMG_2982IMG_2991

Alright so there it is. Feel free to let me know what you thought of the recalibrated peanut butter cups (my family’s taste-testing produced mixed results because dad and sister have a particular sweet tooth and what I think is a slight aversion to healthy alternatives), and have a wonderful week dilettantes!

IMG_2968

IMG_2956

Leave a Reply

