A little bit of everything

Rethinking the Energy Bar

5 Comments

IMG_3464

When I started to work out on a regular basis a couple of years ago, I wanted to fuel up beforehand so I could perform the best that I could. The simplest answer to me was energy bars, so I went to the local grocery store and picked some up. I definitely noticed the energy boost that they gave me, but I’ve also learned a lot since then and so now I want to unravel some of the truth behind energy bars.

You might have already read or heard about this topic, but in its simplest terms energy bars are sugar and chemicals in smart packaging. Not always so many chemicals, but the energy it provides is almost exclusively derived from processed sugar and its many aliases (cane sugar, brown rice syrup, fructose, the list goes on).

Sugar will give you that energy kick, but it won’t last very long and if you have too much of it you’ll just be working in reverse. Not to mention the amount of money you have to shell out for them. It’s really just not worth it.

IMG_3438

Now, there has also been a recipe floating around online for simple, homemade energy bars. A clean alternative to a popular product? I had to try it!

The ingredients are so simple: equal parts dates, raisins, and almonds. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon as well to amp up the taste (using a half-cup of each ingredient)…

IMG_3449

Gather your ingredients and put them all in your food processor or Magic Bullet

IMG_3453

Blend it all up! It should be fairly sticky

IMG_3455

Place it on saran wrap and use the saran wrap to mold it into a rectangle shape

IMG_3457

Like so

IMG_3464

Now just chop them up (you can put them in the fridge for 10-15 min. beforehand to harden them a little if you want) and enjoy!

I loved the ease of this recipe and the nutrients it provided, and I was actually impressed with the taste! My only criticism is that I couldn’t eat of lot of them because of their denseness (I needed to have a big glass of water with it to wash it down) as well as their distinct flavour.

In the end, these are a great way to get a lot of calories (yes, calories – your body needs energy to perform well and improve), nutrients, and natural sugars to fuel your body prior to working out.

At the same time, however, there’s nothing wrong with a bowl of oatmeal with your favourite fruit and a glass of water. The most important thing to remember is to keep it simple and eat whole foods. And don’t believe everything you read on a package.

=)

5 thoughts on “Rethinking the Energy Bar

  1. these look yummy! I just had a little concoction yesterday of walnuts, dates, a little cacao, vanilla bean and cinnamon. So delicious!

    • that does sound delicious! there’s nothing better than experimenting with food and coming up with something delectable =)

  2. I have to do this! such an easy recipe – and yes they are quite dense :)
    I also found some great ready made ones – read more here:
    http://www.squidoo.com/be-kind-bars

  3. Sounds good. As a lazy healthy guy, I would have liked to see a nutritional breakdown on your bars.

Leave a Reply

