A little bit of everything

Lettuce Wrap Goodness

Leave a comment

I!MG_3485

Welcome to summer! I know that was already nine days ago, but the weather here was so disappointing (and by that I mean rainy and cold) that I couldn’t bring myself to accept that the season had arrived.  But yesterday and today have been so hot and sunny! So now I will say it is summer.

With the hot weather, it’s nice to be able to make a cold meal instead of a hot one, plus I’ve always wanted to try making lettuce wraps, so I finally decided to do it.

!IMG_3472

There are lots of recipes on the web, but I chose to do it off-the-top-of-my-head-style because it’s just a lot more fun that way. I ended up deciding on a quinoa and chicken lettuce wrap – something light and delicious!

One quick tip on cooking quinoa: make sure you stir it when it’s cooking, because it will burn. Learn from my mistakes.

Once you’ve cooked it (cajun-style or otherwise), you can add your tomato, carrot, green onion, cilantro, and whatever else you would like. For the dressing, I simply used a bit of olive oil, fresh lemon juice, and salt and pepper.

!IMG_3476

As for the chicken, it’s a great way to use leftovers from last night’s dinner, or you can always quickly cook some up and chop it into bite-sized pieces.

Then place it all in a big piece of iceberg lettuce, and eat!

!IMG_3488

I fell in love with lettuce wraps after just one bite. It’s all the great taste of a wrap but with the freshness and crispness of lettuce instead of tortillas, which can sometimes be heavy.

The only hiccup I ran into was that the quinoa liked to fall out of the wrap as I was eating it and it got a bit messy, so make sure you wrap it up good!

I hope you  try making your own lettuce wraps, and if you have some good recipes, please share!

Until next week. =)

Leave a Reply

