A little bit of everything

The Best Gift You Can Give: Scrapbook Memories

Leave a comment

SAM_3932

Happy Wednesday everyone! I know that this was supposed to be up on Sunday, but I was face down in my books for the last four days. Now that I have some free time, however, I can connect with you all again. Better late than never right? I like to think so.

This past weekend my boyfriend and I celebrated the fourth year anniversary of our relationship. I would not have imagined that I would be holding hands with the same man- who happens to be my first boyfriend – since high school, but he has filled my life with so much happiness and love that I couldn’t imagine holding hands with anyone else. Sappy, I know.

Anyway, he took me out to a very nice dinner where we exchanged gifts. He spoiled me to say the least, and although I couldn’t buy him his Nissan GT-R (not that he was expecting it!) I  took a more personal approach that he appreciated just as much.

A year and a half ago, I first gave my man an 8 x 8 scrapbook that I had entitled “You & Me”, and have since been gradually filling it with pages of memories. Facebook pictures are nice, but placing them in a scrapbook and putting in your creativity and time to embellish them is the best way to cherish someone you love. I would even venture to say that it has made those memories even more special to me.

I’ve featured most of the pages here for you to take a peek. I guess I’m giving you creeping privileges into my life here – good thing you guys are so special to me! Hopefully they can even give you a little inspiration for your own scrapbook gift. And I apologize for the less-than-great picture quality, but you get the idea…

SAM_3958

My first page is a table of contents. I had a lot of fun with this one as there were no photos and it was purely up to my imagination. Plus it’s a cute touch, wouldn’t you say?

SAM_3957

This is probably my favourite page. Not because of the crafting but because it just has so many memories in it. My boyfriend and I have a love for going to concerts, so this page is continually filling up.

And it also doubles as the perfect secret way to surprise your man/gal with new concert tickets! When I first created the page, I filled it up with our used tickets and then snuck in the Black Keys tickets I had bought as part of the gift. Seeing the look of surprise on his face when he realized what they were was priceless.

From summer vacations to snowboarding and mountain biking to Christmas and New Year’s, fill up the rest with whatever memories you share with your special someone. Make them simple and modest, or crank up the embellishment with elaborate pages – there are no guidelines, just see what you can come up with.

I’m quite particular when making mine, I wonder if you can tell…

SAM_3945

SAM_3955

SAM_3951

SAM_3950

SAM_3949

Have any of you started a scrapbook for someone? Do you upkeep one of your own (I have some significant catching up to do on mine)? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy dilettanting!

Leave a Reply

