A little bit of everything

Happy New Year! Resolutions and Reflections

Leave a comment

Minions

Happy New Year’s Eve dilettantes! I realize some parts of the world have already made the switch to 2014, so in that case Happy New Year!

Another year gone by, and sometimes I find myself wondering what I have to show for it. I have a friend who lives with that thought in mind and with the goal that he wants to continually be accomplishing things. He’s played on the Canadian national team for the World Championships in ultimate frisbee  twice, mountain unicycles, is a crazy good skier and an avid outdoorsman. So I’d say he’s doing pretty good.

My accomplishments are much more modest, but first and most important I’ve started this blog, which has given me such happiness and satisfaction that I would venture so far as to call it my favourite part of the year! I’ve also begun to find myself (as cliche as that sounds) in terms of the lifestyle I want to live, who I want to be, and the mark I want to make on the world. A university course and a couple great books (Adria Vasil’s Ecoholic Body and Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma) have shown me the extent to which humans are affecting our world and hurting ourselves with all the chemicals we off-gas, produce, consume, and smear on our bodies. I want to live healthy and clean and help others to do the same. I don’t know how yet, but I know that that is what will make me happy so I will figure it out somehow.

In the meantime, I can work towards this and other goals with some good old New Year’s resolutions. I know that I have written before that such goal-setting is often done in excitement rather than sincerity and that it’s better to just live always happy, but never satisfied. However, if you have goals you should stop dreaming about them and set out to do them! If the inspiration of a new year and new opportunities is what motivates you to do this, then by all means make your New Year’s resolutions!

Here are a few of mine that I hope will guide the next 365 days of my life and beyond:

1) Live healthy and clean

This is very large and encompassing, but I want to ditch the junk food and the awful chemicals, hormones, and preservatives laced in pretty much all mainstream food and health and beauty products, and be conscious of what I put on and in my body. This not only helps me but the environment, so it’s a win-win.

2) Get serious about yoga

I introduced myself to yoga almost a year ago now by means of an at-home DVD, and while it definitely sparked my interest it’s also very hard to really get into it on the floor of my bedroom. I received some Christmas money this year and I’ve already figured out where I want to get my yoga membership and I plan on working it into my school schedule beginning with once a week. Super excited!!

3) Get fit

I consider myself a fairly in shape person and I love working out and being active, but this past year I wasn’t very diligent with keeping a consistent workout schedule and I didn’t improve that much. This must change.

4) Be able to do the splits (still)

I set this goal at the beginning of this year to be accomplished by today. To my own dismay I couldn’t follow through, but at least I’m not starting from scratch now.

5) Grow mentally and spiritually

We are what we do (at least that’s what I believe) but that starts with who we are inside and how we think and look at the world. I guess this is essentially about becoming a better person – I think we can always be working towards that!

I hope you all have a safe and wonderful celebration tonight! And I wish you all the best of luck with your own personal goals. May they give you something to look back upon one year from today and think, “this is what I have to show for the year”, and be very proud.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

