A little bit of everything

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a comment

SAM_4004 edit

Happy Valentine’s Day dilettantes! I hope you get lots of hugs and kisses sent your way today! I plan on buying myself a giant cupcake and watching a good movie tonight. And while flowers and gifts are lovely, I really just hope you all share lots of love with the special people around you.

I sent some love to the office of my old summer co-op job with the card above, and I truly believe it’s the little things that make this holiday special.

To be frank, Valentine’s Day has become ridiculously commercial. I actually feel sorry for the insane expectations that have been placed on guys to sweep their ladies off their feet in a night of romance and extravagance. Of course it’s nice to be treated, but I draw a line when People’s Diamonds is trying to convince us that women need diamond necklaces today.

You don’t love your partner for the things they spoil you with on one day, you love them for all of the immaterial things they do for you on the other 364.

So, I challenge you to make this Valentine’s Day about appreciating how much you love the people around you and letting them know how much they mean to you. Maybe it’s through gifts, but maybe it’s through a great big hug or a heartfelt, tear-jerking haiku; the point is that it doesn’t need to be anything in particular. =)

Lots of love and best wishes for a wonderful day!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

